Kathmandu-Kalinga Literary Festival in Lalitpur

The three-day Lalitpur-based Kathmandu-Kalinga Literary Festival has successfully come to an end. N.P. Saud, Nepal’s foreign minister, officially opened this literary extravaganza, which was co-organized by the Yashaswi Academy of Nepal and the Kalinga Literature Festival (KLF) of India.

kalinga literary festival

The occasion made a great contribution to the promotion of cultural heritage while being vital in encouraging literary and cultural activities in South Asia. Avadhesh Pradhan, Divya Datta, Madhav Prasad Pokharel, and Manisha Koirala, among other distinguished individuals, received the coveted “Yashaswi Literary Award.”

In a new initiative introduced this year, the “Yashaswi Book Awards” celebrated outstanding literary contributions. The accolades were presented to Bibek Ojha for his book “Aithan” in the realm of narrative literature, Dr. Nawaz Kesi for his work “Sunyako Mulya,” a collection of creative non-fiction stories, and Renuka Jisi for her compelling storytelling.

For the book “Sanesh,” Dr. Mahendra Mall received the “Bhasko Bakpatra” award for his collection of poetic verses. Govinda Giri Prerana was recognized for his biography, “Sushri Parajat,” and Anuradha received accolades for her children’s literature book, “Chhamchako Chhamchami.”
Reema Kesi received recognition for her translation of “Selected Poems of Amrita Pritam,” among other significant recipients. Lakpa Dendi Sherpa’s autobiography was praised, while Narayan Ghimire’s cookbook and medical work, “Raiyathe Khannpan Ra Chadparwa,” gained praise.

with addition, with their contributions to the collection “Men of Merit,” “Himalayan Maverick” and Sushant Thapa dabbled with English poetry.

The festival provided a venue for the congregation of literary giants from Nepal, India, Bhutan, Bangladesh, and Sri Lanka, promoting intercultural dialogue and cooperation between these countries.

1 thought on “Kathmandu-Kalinga Literary Festival in Lalitpur”

Leave a Comment